UK Groups Launch Boycott of Israeli Products & Tourism

A boycott of Israeli products and leisure tourism was launched at the House of Commons last night. A packed meeting heard Members of Parliament Lynn Jones and George Galloway pledge their support for the boycott called by the Palestine Solidarity Campaign and 22 other organisations.

Organisers say the boycott will send a message to the Israeli Government
that British people are no longer prepared to indirectly fund Israel's war
of aggression on the Palestinian people. They also ask the British
government to stop condoning Israel's failure to implement United Nations
resolutions on Palestine.

The first target will be agricultural produce sold in the main
supermarkets, such as tomatoes, Jaffa oranges, potatoes, avocados, fresh
herbs and organic fruit and vegetables. The boycott will be lifted when
Israel ends its illegal occupation, complies with UN resolutions and
ceases human rights violations.

''This is a non-violent way to raise public awareness...'' said Dr Lynn
Jones MP.

George Galloway MP spoke out against the welcome to Downing Street given
to Ariel Sharon last week. ''This war criminal is given the red carpet
treatment everywhere he goes instead of being locked up for human rights

Prof. Moshe Machover said: ''People ask whether the Palestinian economy
will be damaged by a boycott. Such worries do not apply in this case. The
Palestinian economy has been throttled by Israel.'' He accused Israel of
''smuggling contraband,'' evading customs and excise regulations as
they re-export goods produced on illegal settlements in the West Bank
and Gaza.

Michel Massih, the first Palestinian QC, told the meeting that every Jaffa
orange sold contributes towards destroying the city of Jaffa.

Poet and broadcaster Michael Rosen said he would have ''no problem''
supporting a cultural and academic boycott of Israel. ''Just say no,'' he

Members of Parliament supporting the campaign include John Austin, Bill
Etherington and Neil Gerrard. The veteran parliamentarian, Tony Benn, is
also a signatory along with Harold Pinter, Caryl Churchill, Emma Thompson,
Tom Paulin, Benjamin Zephaniah, Leon Rosselson, and Alexei Sayle. Among
academics supporting the boycott are Professors Steven and Hilary Rose.
Lawyers are represented by Michael Mansfield QC, Imran Khan and Gareth
Peirce. Church leaders for the boycott include the Rev. Garth Hewitt, Rev
Steven Sizer and Rev. Dr. Michael Prior.


Zahid Noor


Palestine Solidarity Campaign

AMP Section Name:Human Rights
  • 191 Tourism & Real Estate
* indicates required