Contact l Sitemap

home industries issues reasearch weblog press

Home  » Industries » War & Disaster Profiteering

LIST OF EXPERTS - Casualties of Katrina

August 27th, 2007

BILOXI GROUPS

Boatpeople SOS
www.bpsos.org
Thao Vu, Biloxi organizer: 228-436-9999
Biloxi@bpsos.org

Navasa - National Alliance of Vietnamese American Service Agencies
www.navasa.org
Phone: 301-587-2781
James Bui, regional project manager: 504-344-7804

North Gulfport Community Land Trust
www.ngclt.org
228-868-0250

Jason Mackenzie, executive director
Steps Coalition
www.stepscoalition.org

Turkey Creek Community Initiatives
www.turkey-creek.org
228-863-0099
Derrick Evans, executive director: tccidirector@gmail.com


DEBRIS

Sierra Club (Louisiana chapter)
louisiana.sierraclub.org
225-925-8650
Darryl Malek-Wiley, organizer for environmental justice: 504-865-8708
darryl.malek-wiley@sierraclub.org

Lower Mississippi Riverkeeper
www.lmrk.org
keeper@lmrk.org

MQVN Community Development Corporation
www.mqvncdc.org
Mai Dang, community organizer: 504-255-9170
maidang@mqvncdc.org

Mary Queen of Vietnam Church
Pastor Vien The Nguyen: 504-254-5660


ELECTRICITY

Alliance for Affordable Energy
www.all4energy.org
504-208-9761
Karen Wimpelberg, president: Kaawgg@aol.com

Bureau of Governmental Research
www.bgr.org
(504) 525-4152
Janet Howard, president: janethoward@bgr.org

Grand Bayou Project
Reverend Kristina Peterson
krajeskipeterson@msn.com


ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE

Advocates for Environmental Human Rights
www.ehumanrights.org/
504-799-3060
Monique Harden - Co-Director
mharden@ehumanrights.org

Dillard University Deep South Center for Environmental Justice
www.dscej.org
504) 816-4005
Beverly Wright, director: 504) 816-4025, bhwright@aol.com

Louisiana Bucket Brigade
www.labucketbrigade.org
Anne Rolfes, director: 504-484-3433

Louisiana Environmental Action Network
www.leanweb.org
Marylee Orr, executive director: 225-928-1315, ext. 302

Sierra Club (Mississippi chapter)
www.mississippi.sierraclub.org
601-352-1026
Becky Gillette, vice chair: 228-872-3457, bgillette@bellsouth.net

Subra Company/Louisiana Environmental Action Network
Wilma Subra: 337-367-2216
subracom@aol.com

Tulane Environmental Law Clinic
www.tulane.edu/~telc
504-865-5789
Adam Babich, director: 504-862-8800

Tulane Environmental Law Clinic
www.tulane.edu/~telc
Attorney Corinne Van Dalen: 504.862.8818, cvandale@tulane.edu


HOUSING & ECONOMIC JUSTICE

Center for Environmental and Economic Justice
www.envirojustice.com
228-374-3010
Bishop James Black: jblack@envirojustice.com

Citizens' Road Home Action Team
thinknola.com/wiki/Citizens%27_Road_Home_Action_Team
Melanie Ehrlich, founder: chatlra@yahoo.com  or mehrlich8@yahoo.com
Frank Silvestri, Co-Chair: franks4217@yahoo.com

Jeremiah Group
Nell Bolton, organizer from Trinity Episcopal Church: 504-522-0276

Mississippi Center for Justice
www.mscenterforjustice.org
601-352-2269

Katrina Recovery Office: 228-435-7284

Attorney Reilly Morse: rmorse@mscenterforjustice.org

New Orleans ACORN
www.neworleans.acorn.org
504-943-0044


INSURANCE

Consumer Federation of America
www.consumerfed.org
202-387-6121

Insurance Information Institute
Kanner and Whitely, Attorneys at Law
www.iii.org
212-346-5500

Scruggs Katrina Group
www.scruggskatrinagroup.com
601-898-7302


LEVEES AND COASTAL RESTORATION

Atchafalaya Basinkeeper
www.basinkeeper.org
Dean Wilson: 225-928-1315 ext. 305
basinkeeper@aol.com

Citizens for a Safer Jefferson
www.cfasj.org
Debbie Settoon, president: dmsettoon@helisoil.com

Gulf Restoration Network
www.healthygulf.org
Dan Favre, campaign organizer: dan@healthygulf.org
504-525-1528, ext. 209

Holy Cross Neighborhood Association
Pam DaShiell, president: orleans2008@yahoo.com

Institute on Water Resources Law and Policy at Tulane Law School
www2.law.tulane.edu/enlaw
Mark Davis, director: 504-865-5982, msdavis@tulane.edu

Matthew McBride
fixthepumps.blogspot.com

OTHER GROUPS

Common Ground Collective
www.commongroundrelief.org/
504-483-2145
Sakura Kone, 504-583-0750, Media Co-ordinator
sakkone@gmail.com

go to table of contents